Architecture Studies http://blogs.library.unlv.edu/arch-studies/ Announces new materials and events in the ASL. Announcements and feature information from the ASL Librarian. en Copyright 2009 Tue, 12 Sep 2006 10:09:08 -0800 http://www.sixapart.com/movabletype/ http://www.rssboard.org/rss-specification InformeDesign and design research InformeDesign http://www.informedesign.umn.edu/Default.aspx provides summaries of research in design fields or applicable to design fields. The research comes from articles, books, and reports, and the original publication is cited in the research summary. The summary also includes design criteria, key concepts, and notes on the research methodology.

This clearinghouse is aimed primarily at architects and interior designers, although there is much of interest to other design fields. The project is a collaboration between the University of Minnesota and the American Society of Interior Designers.

The research summaries are both keyword searchable and accessible by topic. Topics are grouped into three broad areas: space, occupants, and issues. As an example of its broad coverage, there are 431 research summaries in the category of Outdoor Space. In the area of Hospitality/Restaurant, of particular interest to Las Vegas, there are 136 research summaries.

This is a tool for all designers interested in how current research might impact their design projects!

]]>
http://blogs.library.unlv.edu/arch-studies/2006/09/informedesign-and-design-resea.html http://blogs.library.unlv.edu/arch-studies/2006/09/informedesign-and-design-resea.html Databases Tue, 12 Sep 2006 10:09:08 -0800
News from the past The announcement of Google's News Archive service http://news.google.com/archivesearch proved a catalyst for some trial searches for turn-of-the-last-century architect George Barber. Barber fans will be pleased to know that some items did turn up, although they will definitely need to search America's Historical Newspapers, one of the UNLV Libriares databases [limited to UNLV faculty and students; at http://www.library.unlv.edu/collections/newspap.php] as well.

Google News Archive search proved effective for the more recent past, but America's Historical Newspapers was more productive for turn-of-the-century materials.

Another point worth noting: many of the items retrieved in the Google search are only available for a fee. For America's Historical Newspapers, the subscription fee has been paid by the Libraries! And before you pay to access items in the Google results list, check UNLV Libraires newspapers databases -- some of the items in the Google results are in newspapers available in Libraries' databases.

]]>
http://blogs.library.unlv.edu/arch-studies/2006/09/news-from-the-past.html http://blogs.library.unlv.edu/arch-studies/2006/09/news-from-the-past.html Databases Fri, 08 Sep 2006 09:09:52 -0800